Busy, Busy, Busy

You know when you have a lot of stuff going on that you’d love to share but you just don’t have the time to share it? Well that’s what my life has been like lately…but I wouldn’t have it any other way. As much as I’m a homebody and love being in my own space, I’ve loved being busy lately and living life instead of dreaming about things I want to do.

So as I mentioned in a previous post, I started to finally use my sewing machine. I fell in love to be exact :) I even decided to join an online Home Ec class being run by these lovely ladies. You might have noticed the fancy new widget on the left sidebar that links to all the info on the class. So far I’ve done some two-sided napkins, a pin cushion and a tote bag I’m kind of in love with :) I originally was going to make it for myself, but one of my best friends, Jenny, will be turning 27 on Thursday and I will FINALLY get to spend it with her! Well the day before it, but still…I don’t think I have been able to celebrate her birthday with her since high school. Sheesh, life can take over sometimes you know? Anyway, I decided to make the bag for her gift since I know she would appreciate the effort I put into it. I actually had it all made last night and when I looked at it this morning I knew it needed to be more substantial so I tore it all apart and added a liner inside. It took me a good 3 hours but it was worth it…I love the end result and I hope Jenny will too! (God I hope she doesn’t read this)

I’ve had some frustrating moments with my sewing machine where I felt like giving up, but Im proud to say that I just took a little break and went right back to it. Sometimes I just need to clear my head and breath before I can figure out what the problem is. I think this will stick with me :)

Another exciting thing that happened last night was an impromptu meet up with my friend Janine, who I was inseparable from in grade 5 and 7 when I lived in Newfoundland! It just so happens that Janine and her husband, Trent, have packed up all their belongings and are moving back home to Newfoundland from Edmonton. They decided to take their time and make a road trip of it to see as much of the country as they can and passed through Ottawa last night :) They even started a blog to document their trip and I have to say, they have some awesome pictures up so go check it out!  http://trentandjanine.blogspot.com/ They haven’t written about our visit yet, but Janine did take some pictures and asked if she could blog about it ;) I’m so incredibly happy we got to see each other and that she hasn’t changed at all! She is still such a warm and genuine person to be around and I’m so happy she found a wonderful husband who seems to be the same way! I wish we could have visited for days but some day we’ll have to make a trip to Newfoundland to see them.

So tomorrow I head to Toronto to visit Jenny and her fiance Lucas and then I pick up Lucy’s Daddy on Thursday morning at the ungodly hour of 6am in the T.O airport and head to Hamilton for a week. Lucy hasn’t seen her Dad since March when he went out to Fort McMurray to look for work and she has changed SO MUCH is those 6 months! I’m curious to see how she reacts to him. Im sure she’ll be excited but will she listen to him if he tries to discipline her? That will be an interesting experience for sure ;)

I’ll leave you with some pictures from the last while…some from the farmer’s market, some from a trip to my SIL’s cottage and just some cute ones of Lucy of course ;)

 

I should also mention that my Brother Ryan and his fiance Tanya now know about my blog! I wasn’t planning on telling my family about it yet but changed my mind..so welcome Ryan and Tanya!! And for god’s sake, if you read, comment! I want to know what you think … and I hope you don’t mind your pictures here, If you do I’ll delete them ;)

Ok, one more thing…I haven’t updated Lucy’s words since before my vacation, but she has exploded verbally in the last month!! Like she says full sentences and sings full songs and can say almost anything now. It’s so crazy, I think I’ll have to get a video soon! Tonight she looked at me and said “Mommy watch me” and then, being very deliberate, said “Jesus Christ” and grinned her little evil grin!! What the hell?!? I think she’s just trying to get attention but I have to nip that shit in the bud…we can’t have a swearing 3 year old, now can we?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Busy, Busy, Busy

  1. Hey classmate!
    GREAT job on your tote! I really like your lining. I wish I would have done that with mine…
    Keep up the great work!
    emily

  2. Tunja

    I love these pics…. and I’m totally checking your blog daily now that I have the hang of this thing. I’ve even commented a few times. Do you get notices for comments on previous posts? Clearly I’m still new :)

Leave a Reply

